My vegan story.

mv5bmtu5nzaymzk1mf5bml5banbnxkftztgwode3njqynte-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_
Cowspiracy, 2014 (Source)

I made the decision to become vegan in mid-December 2015, (feels like an eternity ago, actually only a month and a half!) but after a few weeks of falling flat on my face time and time again, I took some time to do my research and get organised before starting again properly in January.

Why did I decide to go vegan? Well, it all started with my love for documentaries and the environment! Whilst researching green living (tips, reusable products etc.) the topic of veganism as a way to massively reduce pollution kept cropping up. I tried to compromise first by only eating meat on weekdays, and then eventually only on weekends.

Flash forward a few weeks, and I’m bored out of my skull, really feeling like a documentary. Flicking through netflix, I see this one called Cowspiracy which had been on my watch list for a while, but I’d never actually gotten round to. From the synopsis alone I had this feeling it would leave me with no option but to become vegan, but I loved meat so much. I toiled, and then finally decided that living in ignorance is not the way. From the moment I finished that documentary I was under no illusion as to the harm I would cause to the planet through eating meat.

Once I had made the commitment not to eat another animal product, I was able to do more research without fear, and the overwhelmingly convincing health and moral reasons reinforced my conviction. I have definitely been weak, I have definitely made (many) mistakes, but it is important to stay positive. Even in trying and failing I am saving lives and helping the planet, and one day I will be able to look back and say I made a difference. If you are passionate about the environment, your health, or are an animal lover and are not yet vegan, I would encourage you to see my vegan links page so that you can be up-to-date with the facts and make an informed decision. It felt strange to begin with, but I am definitely satisfied with the decision I made.

4 thoughts on “My vegan story.

  1. Thom 04/02/2016 / 11:24 am

    Best thing I have done too πŸ˜€. It’s a cool feeling to be vegan

    Like

    • Lydia 04/02/2016 / 1:24 pm

      It certainly is! Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. MindfulConsumption 04/02/2016 / 10:37 pm

    Such positive words to read! It doesn’t matter how many moments of weakness you may have, you’re still doing a wonderful thing, and the kind thing. Keep going!

    Like

    • Lydia 05/02/2016 / 9:42 am

      Thank you, that’s so encouraging!

      Like

Leave a Reply

