Craving meat.

20151011_175259
A picture of some haribo i took back in September. You’re welcome.

On a day-to-day basis, I’m loving veganism. I feel energetic, lighter, fitter, happier and my conscience is clearer. I live alone (in university accommodation, so kind of) and everything that comes into my fridge and cupboards is good for me. However, I have to admit I still struggle when I have to be around meat.

Don’t get me wrong, I am committed to not consuming animal products, and I’ve seen way too much to be able to allow myself to go there, but on a taste-bud level… It still gets me. The smell of meat makes me salivate, and I can still taste it on my tongue. I was watching a documentary on the fish industry a few days ago and just looking at the fish made me crave them. I hope I’m not offending anyone here, but I just needed to be honest and get it off my chest. For someone who’s lived their whole life as a meat-eater, I sometimes struggle to untrain my habits.

Saying that, I have heard from many vegans that with time, you lose that craving. Already after a few months of this diet it’s definitely easier than at the beginning, when all I could think about was how much I missed meat! Just like I have learnt to love vegetables I’d hated in the past (spinach, sweet potato and carrots to name but a few) just by persevering, I know I will eventually have no desire to put another animal product in my mouth.

This is where motivation has to kick in. Motivation is the difference between failure and determination. I have to remind myself that every day I am saving innocent animals from absolutely horrific conditions and slaughter, that I am living in a way that means I am not contributing to the destruction of the planet and its resources at a rate it could never recover from, and that I am dramatically reducing my risk of developing cardiovascular disease and cancer (see Hungry for Change or Food Matters on Netflix for more on this).

 

3 thoughts on “Craving meat.

  1. Healthy and Psyched 02/03/2016 / 10:54 pm

    I’m not a big meat eater but I did really crave yogurt when I first went vegan. The best thing you can do for now is try and find a substitute. There are lots of vegan options that imitate meat. Once you have those for a while you’ll find yourself having them less and less- at least in my experience. Just hang in there

    Like

  2. Healthy and Psyched 02/03/2016 / 10:56 pm

    Oh also, I went on youtube and watched loads of ‘what i eat in a day’ videos. That will help you get ideas of other things to eat and it makes me feel like I genuinely want those foods the next day (maybe I’m just very suggestible…)

    Like

    • Lydia 03/03/2016 / 10:11 pm

      Thanks for the suggestions! I love ‘what I eat in a day’ videos, they’re great! I’ve definitely been having fun experimenting with new meals these last few months.

      Lydia

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

