1 year on: Salt of the Earth deodorant

picture-2

I bought this alum stone deodorant in the summer of 2015 from Holland and Barrett, very soon after I discovered the zero waste movement. I was super eager to stock up on supplies for my ‘new life’ and did research into waste-free deodorants. Of all the alternatives I found, I thought this one seemed pretty easy; all I had to do was buy it and use it, just like I did before. Only this time, I would be using a completely natural product that created no waste!

To use an alum stone as a deodorant, all you need to do is wet it underneath the tap then rub it over your armpits. It doesn’t soften, nor does a load of liquid come off it, it just feels like you are rubbing a wet stone on your skin (funnily enough!) But it works- it does an amazing job of keeping you odour-free all day long, plus if you’re already a little smelly it ERASES IT INSTANTLY. Can you tell I’m impressed?

I would say the difference between this and a conventional roll-on is that it doesn’t actually smell of anything. It prevents or removes smell, but doesn’t add anything else. No perfumes, no chemicals, no colour, yay! Another thing I only discovered in the last few weeks is that alum stones can be used after shaving to stem and close any nicks or cuts or settle any redness or inflammation.

Price:

I paid Β£3-ish for mine (the smaller travel size version) which is about double what a conventional roll-on costs, but this lasts wayyyy longer so I’ve definitely saved.

Durability:

As I said, I bought the deodorant stone a year ago, and it has only shrunk by about a 1/4 or a 1/3. If you make sure to dry the stone after use- which I have done with the exception of a couple of times when travelling- Β it will last a crazy long time. It’ll no doubt still be going in another year!

Verdict:

My review of this product is near-on flawless. The stone is lightweight and small enough to travel with, it keeps you fresh, it lasts a billion years, literally what more do you need? My only regret is the packaging. In my hurry to stock up on all things zero waste I neglected to notice that it comes in a plastic screw-on cover (pictured). When my stone eventually runs out I am going to try and source the bare stone. If you fail to find one package-free, this is a good compromise.

3 thoughts on “1 year on: Salt of the Earth deodorant

  1. Healthy and Psyched 15/09/2016 / 7:00 pm

    I might have to give this a go again. I have one sitting in the back of my cupboard because it didn’t seem to be very effective. Maybe I was using it wrong

    Like

    • Lydia 17/09/2016 / 1:13 pm

      I’d say give it another go. It’s not heavy duty, but I’m happy with it. If it doesn’t work for you though, that’s fine too, there are plenty of other options πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Alissa 03/10/2016 / 5:29 am

    I love mine too! I agree with all things you’ve said about it… and good to know it could be used post shave too πŸ‘πŸ»

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

